ANZAC day – a time to remember

Let’s be clear: I am no fan of war. I think Bruce Springsteen was right when he sang “war, friend only to the undertaker”.

But that does not mean I have no respect for what soldiers from NZ’s past have done, or for the heartfelt reasons they had for fighting.

My own father fought in WWII and came back. I will always be grateful that he was one of the lucky ones. I do have some of his war bits ‘n bobs, but I admit it is hard for me to think of my dad as Able Seaman Barker.

On this day of remembrance I can only pray that one day the world will be a safer place.

Leave a Reply

