The moon in pastel

1 moon
For those who have visited my blog from time to time over the last three years or so, my moon obsession has no doubt become familiar. I am one of those people who suffer from “full-moon-itis”. You know what I mean. It’s full moon and you’re wide awake, making art at 3 in the morning, or drifting idly round the house longing for sleep.

The moon is waxing gibbous,  74% of full tonight. I know this because I have a moon calendar so I can see, as well as feel, the moon’s phases. As I came home from work tonight the sky was clear blue, the 3/4 moon was up and there were parallel jet plane trails just underneath.

I grabbed my camera…and the results make me want to get out my pastels next weekend and attack some full sheets of Colorfix. I’ve had a quick play with these in Photoshop, cropping and colouring. In any form, the moon fascinates me and when the colours are inverted – wow!

2 thoughts on “The moon in pastel

  1. Hey, I know exactly what you mean about the Moonitis stuff! And what great treatments! I want to start in on this, as soon as I stop spray painting and embossing all the ATCs I’ve got lying in process!

    The moon is a harsh mistress…

    Like

  2. OMG… that photograph is simply marvelous… you are so fortunate to have been able to get a shot of the moon and those jet trails! Just lovely, nice job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

