Mapping the land; experimenting with paint

Mapping 2As you know from a couple of posts back, I have become increasingly fascinated with Aboriginal art, especially the idea of mapping the land. I’ve cuts lots of pictures out of magazines, downloaded art and maps from the net, made some sketches. Generally just started to build up some reference material in my new visual diary.

Today I started in using some paint in my visual diary. Thinking about the shapes of Taranaki where I live, edges and boundaries, about topography and how we represent where we live. One painting I am happy enough with as a starting point, the other doesn’t even begin to express what I was looking for, it’s too – hang on, that would be giving the show away. It’s okay that I’m not happy with one of them, because the diary is just my sandpit for messing round in. Can you guess which one pleases me?

Mapping the land 1

 

4 thoughts on “Mapping the land; experimenting with paint

  1. I really like both your paintings, but I think you probably prefer the second one, because of the blues and greens! Looks like hills and a river to me!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Back to mapping the land « Cath Sheard

Leave a Reply

