LEGATO works – process photos

Last week and over the weekend I was working on the four mixed media paintings that I am taking to Italy for the LEGATO exhibition in May. I thought it was time I shared some snapshots of the process – I have not taken photos of the finished works as yet; partly because I am not 100% certain they are finished. I am living with them for a week or so while I eye them up! Here’s how they got to the “I think these are done’ stage…

Writing the story on the canvas

First acrylic wash over the writing

Adding copies of photos and old war documents

Building up the washes and splashes

Adding the reminder that war is a bloody business

Painting in a peace poppy on each, helping to obscure the text

Leave a Reply

