Handmade Christmas gifts

 

This year I have had a few works done as prints for family members, and they have come up really well. I find Snapfish, here in New Zealand, do quite a good job. But there’s one gift I wanted to make from scratch. My sister and brother-in-law are devotees of Sri Chinmoy and meditate every day; they also love the sea and going diving. I am a bit inclined to scoff, being cynical by nature, but all the same I totally support their right to do whatever makes them happy. I wanted to make a prayer flag for Jim, but ran out of time. So I came up with the idea of Sri Chinmoy quotes on three small canvases, with a sea background. I rubber stamped the fish because part of their guru’s philosophy is about simplicity and accepting imperfection as being perfect. (or something like that…) The photos show the mess of creation, including on my hands, and then one of the finished canvas. I just hope he likes them and understands what I was trying to say to him.

Leave a Reply

