Looking back at 2010

At the end of each year I think back on what I have done; it’s easy for achievements to sort of slide on by barely noticed. Knowing what we have done, and where we’ve been, helps map the road forward – so here a quick recap of things that stand out from 2010 (edited following comments from my best friend Sandra – thank you):

  • Completed my 3-yearly professional registration with LIANZA
  • Entered numerous art exhibitions around the country
  • Supported my best mate Sandra and her mother through another difficult year
  • Kept Mum happy, and quite well, through most of the year
  • Sold a few paintings
  • Lent Sandra my notebook for a couple of months, to save her sanity, when her laptop got stolen
  • Moved Auntie Julie to a new rest home
  • Tidied up my online presence
  • Made Sandra laugh when no one else could – or even thought they should probably
  • Completed a lot of the NZ Art Guild Challenges
  • Bought an exercycle and have actually used it
  • Joined in the Crusades at the GPP Street Team site
  • Lost 25 kilos
  • Gave my father, and Sandra’s father and uncle, the acknowledgement they deserve through the Legato exhibition
  • Became Co-Chair of a national committee for public librarians
  • Went to Italy with Tony for the Legato exhibition
  • Stepped things up another notch at work with my awesome team
  • Was able to wind up a Trust I was part of (with the help of the other Trustees)

My word for 2010 was Map. At the end of 2009 I said Map relates to those (art) works and to the thought processes behind those works. MAP worked well for me, both with my art and in personal goals. I mapped out all sorts of endeavours and achieved them. So my word for 2011 is – well, that’s a post for another day.

2 thoughts on “Looking back at 2010

  1. Much better! You are an amazing person and you underestimate how much your continual, unquestioning love and support is appreciated.

    Like

  2. I’m spending less time online too so it’s taken me a while to catch up. I love your list – what an amazing amount you’ve achieved. And I shall especially take note of your amazing weight loss as I had a terrible year in this regard – losing the plot when Elliot was first diagnosed and putting on weight all year. Back to the straight and narrow. B eproud of yourself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

