Sailing away

My good friend, and awesome photographer, Sandra Robinson kindly let me use one of her recent photos. Okay, so I took it from her Facebook page, but I did tell her I was going to! The thing that appealed to me the most was the horizontal bands of color running throughout the shot. I love the sea, and have always wanted to try windsurfing. There’s an exhibition coming up in September at the Thornton Gallery in Hamilton, called “The Great Waikato Kickoff” – timed to coincide with the Rugby World Cup – works need to have a Kiwi connection for the tourist market so this seemed a good image to start with.  Of course the final result is only similar to the original but Sandra’s photo made a fantastic starting point.

c Sandra Robinson 2011

 

Hamilton Windsurfer. c Cath Sheard 2011

Leave a Reply

