Looking back at 2012

I know this is a bit early, but I have a lot going on in my head, so this seems the perfect time. At the end of each year I think back on the year that’s been; the achievements and events that have shaped my life. Knowing what we have done, what has happened, and where we’ve been, helps map the road forward. Here’s a quick recap of things that stand out from 2012. In many ways this has been a sad and difficult year but as a scrapbooker I know that we can’t just document the good times; without the hard stuff, the really good days would not shine so brightly.

  • Had to accept Mum going into the local rest-home, after 14 years of caring for her at home, when she had a stroke in May.
  • Was awarded Overall Winner of the 2012 Signature Exchange.
  • Dropped out of Post Grad Diploma in Museum Studies at Massey for 2012 – my work and family needed my time more than my studies did.
  • Re-elected as Co-Chair is PubSig, a national organisation that supports librarians, to serve another 2 years.
  • Enjoyed another year of love and friendship with Sandra; 40-mumble years and counting!
  • Presented a lightning session on professional registration at the Palmerston North LIANZA conference 2012.
  • Participated in the 14th Annual International Collage Exchange.
  • Tony had double cataract surgery, then a few months later a femoral crossover bypass to get around a 20cm clot in his left femoral artery.
  • Enjoyed being on the communications committee for the 2012 LIANZA annual conference.
  • Mum passed away just four days after my birthday and 9 days before Christmas. My heart aches.

My guiding word for 2012 was LEARN; looking back, I did few of the things I wanted to learn to do. I think that’s mainly a reflection of the kind of year it has been, which means that my word for next year will have something to do with being kind to myself. When you look back, what have been the big things for you this year?

2 thoughts on “Looking back at 2012

Leave a Reply

