A sudden realisation

I was lying on the sofa in front of the heater tonight, while Tony watched some ancient and vaguely amusing rerun on Jones tv, interrupting him with “I could make a heart out of air dried clay, and embroider one on felt” and then “what about a heart made out of craft metal that I emboss?” and so on. This is a fairly frequent pattern to our evenings; he answers sometimes, grunts intelligently other times, and raises an eyebrow at me for the most outrageous suggestions. All’s well in my world.

Except that this is not good art practice. The artist who did an Advanced Diploma in Art and Creativity is lounging round on the sofa in the evenings, eyes closed and mumbling, instead of sitting at her desk using her art journals and recording progress on her blog. What the heck is with that?

I think it started after Mum died. I was exhausted physically, mentally and emotionally and needed to take time out. To sleep, mourn and heal. But my art is part of what heals me and I am treating it badly. Enough! Tomorrow, the art journals come off the shelf and back onto my desk.

4 thoughts on “A sudden realisation

  1. Art Heals – so says author Shaun McNiff and he is not wrong but one of the hardest things to do is to make yourself sit down and be creative when you most need to actually do it. Myself, I know that if I make the effort the healing will follow and I love art journals as they take away the pressure of having to ‘produce something’. I love art as a healing medium and use it with cancer patients and their families … my passion next to scrapbooking. Thinking of you.

    Like

  2. Hi Cath I read in a magazine today about the difference between motivation and inspiration and realised that it applied to me I get up and motivate myself to get tasks done ….what I don’t do is search for what inspires me and do that instead. But I have decided that. I love to dance so to heck with sitting at home I am off dancing 🙂
    I think that you too after such a loss have probably been motivating yourself but need to find your passion and inspiration again. I know you will because it is such a part of you

    Like

  3. Cath, I needed to hear these words this morning. Art is such a well of healing energy, but sometimes we don’t have the energy to even utilize it. I don’t know what works best — a flash of inspiration, or a firm decision to kick oneself in the butt. Either way, it keeps calling us until we obey.

    Like

  4. I think you had to do what you had to do to mourn your Mum. And now you are ready for a new phase, a different thing, perhaps to honor your Mum and to help you move ahead you will begin the art again. She would, most likely, smile. I loved the photos of your Mum and faith. She reminded me so much of what my own Mum might have been like at that age. Hugs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

