Gelli prints on clear adhesive tape

I’ve been watching Patti Parrish on YouTube over the last few days, and following the Gelli Arts page on FaceBook; I decided I wanted to try printing on clear packing tape so I can use it in my art journals. I added thin layers of Golden Fluid acrylics to my 6×6 Gelli Plate then let it dry thoroughly. My office was about 24 degrees today, so it didn’t take long. I covered the Gelli Plate with overlapped strips of wide clear  packing tape and burnished it with my bone folder. It lifted off really cleanly, which surprised me a bit. I stuck one print to a newspaper page and the other to a much whiter page from a fairly new book that had a bit of pink paint smeared on it. I like both pages and can see me using them in my art journal.  Next time I might try Mica powder on the back, like Patti used – thanks to Patti, and others, for the inspiration.

desk

image0-001

packing tape

9 thoughts on “Gelli prints on clear adhesive tape

  1. I saw the video yesterday but don’t have a Gelli Plate so I used a piece of laminate (formica) and it worked a treat!

    I’ve just stumbled upon your blog . . . as you do when uyou should be doing something else. Actually I was looking for a local supplier of Gelli Plates and your blog popped up in my search! I’m just down the coast from you Cath . . . at Otaki Beach!

    Like

    • Wendy it is good to meet you. A couple of use are about to buy direct from the USA and share shipping. If you are interested email me on cathsheard at xtra.co.nz
      I bought my first 2 from Aussie but think from the USA is about the same.

      Like

Leave a Reply

