Making things happen

Love this post about just doing it.

Ideas come from everything

Two years ago I was thinking about all the reasons I couldn’t do a PhD–age, family responsibilities, financial responsibilities…Today, I’m doing it, and doing it with vigour. So what changed? I commented in an online community that I am on that it seemed like it might not be worthwhile, because of the career track issues, and someone who I can never thank enough said “if you can make it work, you might as well do it. In five years you will be five years older anyway”. She was so right, and it was a life-changing moment for me.

My favourite quote on how to make things happen, though, comes from my favourite band. They’re singing about getting off the treadmill that is the rat race, but the same thought can be applied to any dream you’re chasing:

All it takes is one decision, a lot of guts, a little vision…

View original post 50 more words

One thought on “Making things happen

Leave a Reply

