364 pieces of art

I used to blog a lot, as a way of showing my art process, and to clarify my thinking. Over the years FaceBook became my avenue for some of that, but it’s not as good. Too many distractions, and hard to see progress over time. And of course FB changes the rules from time to time, often with little warning. I’ve not been creating as regularly as I used to, yet it’s good for me – even 10 minutes a day helps and makes me a happier, and therefor better, person all round.

In lieu of over-ambitious New Year’s resolutions I won’t keep, I’m committing to making a small piece of art every day. I’ll probably work on index cards so I can take them with me if I’m away from home. I painted every day for a year once and it was great. Sure, in the end I didn’t manage every single day, but it was fun anyway!

I’d like to draw better, so I’ll be incorporating an element of drawing into some pieces. Along with the art, I want to think out load more, and commit those thoughts onto my blog. As an introvert I find it’s good for me to have somewhere to put my thoughts down. So, yesterday was a rest today – today, the 364 pieces of art project begins.

blue orange 2

4 thoughts on “364 pieces of art

  1. Pingback: #365Things Day 1 | Speak Your Truth

  2. This is very exciting! I saw a book a few years ago where a woman painted (watercolors) a small (probably similar to an index card size) painting of Lake Michigan (looks like an ocean when you’re on shore) every day. She painted what it looked like to her, and then she made a book out of all of them. I don’t remember if it was 365 days or just a summer…either way it was captivating to see them all when it was done. This will be just as captivating! I can’t wait to see!

    Like

Leave a Reply

