Weight loss update

It’s a few weeks since I updated progress. Following my pre-Christmas trip to Base Hospital I am feeling *much* better. Having lost over 38kg so far, I’m now under 100kg for the first time in a couple of decades and am about the same weight, but not shape, as I was in my mid-to-late 20s.

I went to Farmers and bought jeans off the rack; the first two pairs were too big – unheard of! More importantly I am starting to feel like myself again, and have more like my usual energy back. Instead of going to bed at 7pm like Mum used to, I am staying up till 10pm or later, am crafting in the evenings and generally doing ‘stuff’. I’m also on the exercycle every night and, although being cautious in case of injury, I am increasing both the time and distance a little every night.

I had a couple of phone appointments this week with staff from the weight loss surgery office; they are pleased with how I’m progressing now, having been very concerned about how sick I got. They expect me to keep losing weight for another 9-12 months but at a slower rate as I eat a little more variety and quantity. At this stage I can’t increase the volume, my pouch just won’t let me, but I am trying more foods. I’m managing to drink around 1200mls a day, with only minimal nausea. So, all good finally!

face

2 thoughts on “Weight loss update

  1. It’s been quite a journey for you and congratulations on your perseverance! A very inspiring story, and so is your artmaking. All the best as the new year unfolds. You look great!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

