Painting interlude

I have not really done any painting in the past week. I have two problems mainly:

1. The weather is so hideous. It is 24 degrees or so here most days and incredibly humid. My acrylic paints are giving me grief; they get to the tacky stage almost instantly. Awful.  There is no way I would consider varnishing in this weather.

2. Our wee dog has been increasingly sick over the last week. We have it under control now I hope but it has been very time consuming. She is my only baby and I have been really worried about her. You can meet Faith here.

I’ve been going to bed early each night so she can cuddle up with me and get some ‘Mom sympathy’. So while I soothe her, I have been rereading some favorite art books. Such as the Acrylic Revolution, and some books about journals and mixed media. Then I scribble some notes in my art journals; so the time has not been wasted. It’s amazing what even that small amount of research does to rev up the brain and get the creative wheels spinning.

5 thoughts on “Painting interlude

  1. Faith is just adorable, I’m sorry she’s been having troubles though. I know how you feel – Mocha is our only baby too and I hate it when he gets sick. He’s a bit jealous that Faith has her own blog LOL.

    Like

  2. Omigosh, Faith has the cutest little face, aw that sad expression! I hope she is still doing better, it’s so worrisome when one of them gets sick because it really do become like kids and so loved.

    Like

  3. Faith is such a beautiful little girl. Hope she is all better very soon.
    Sometimes, I feel,,,an interlude is required. It renews the creative energy, and gets the juices flowing.

    Like

  4. I hope your sweet Faith improves quite soon. It’s so hard to have our loved pet suffer.
    Do you ever use any of the mediums that slow drying, or does that cause even more problems with the humidity is high?
    I got some of Golden’s OPEN acrylics last summer and enjoyed them because they were workable for so long. Nancy Reynor wrote a post on her blog about working with them pein air in the dry Arizona climate.

    Like

  5. Hi Cath,
    Your babies, all the four legged ones, are SO beautiful! I hope Faith is doing much, much better… you deserve lots and lots of happy, stress free days/months/years with your little girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

