A difficult few days

Last week I was sailing through the post-surgery recovery, feeling great. On Saturday the nausea kicked in with a vengeance – food was ok, but trying to drink water was almost impossible. The only way I could manage it was tepid water with a little diet lime flavouring. I went from drinking 1.5ltrs a day to well under a litre, feeling sick constantly.

Anti-nausea pills have it pretty much sorted but the combination of too little to drink and a (teeny) high protein diet induced the worst Gout I’ve had in years. Yesterday I had to use my walker and even then I was barely mobile. The nurse at the weight loss clinic said to get whatever meds I needed down me, and rely on the Losec to protect my tummy. I spent all day yesterday sleeping off the meds and today am walking with just my walking stick.  

I’m still a bit nauseous – one sip of water can be one to many – but am clearly on the up again.

On the flip side I have lost just over 10kg since the surgery 12 days ago and am 200gm off 20kg since the pre-op diet began at the start of August. My body doesn’t feel a lot different, although I am wearing clothes I haven’t worn for a couple of years, but my face us changing.

face-2016-09-14

3 thoughts on “A difficult few days

Leave a Reply

