Prepping too soon

On Saturday I posted on bsky that “I’ve just taped the edges of about a dozen pieces of paper. I love a nice, clean white edge on the finished works. The fact I’ve prepped so many is a good sign. My subconscious must think I’m ready to start a new series”.

I had an idea of what I wanted to create, starting with fluro pink or orange paint scraped onto the paper so it was textural. I painted 8 small pieces of paper, mainly in the fluro pink, and let it dry. So far, so good.

Then … nothing. Hmm, looked at the inspiration photos on the wall, and the couple of trial works I’d done. Ok, the direction’s pretty clear. Put some paint out and started working across four of the prepped surfaces.

Nothing worked as expected. Not just in a “well, these need a lot of refining” way, or even a “well, some collage and mark making will help” way either. More of a “can I light a bonfire” way?” 😉

It means I prepped the surfaces too soon. I need to spend more time in my art journals, more time playing with colours and shapes, and just let it simmer. The paper I prepped won’t go to waste, but it’ll probably be a few weeks at least before they appear on my art desk again.

Leave a comment