Crusade #44: In a scrape

Michelle’s challenge for the month over at the GPP Street Team site was to put away pour paint brushes, grab an old credit card, and get scraping. This idea really suits how I work so my answer to the challenge was “heck yes!”. I keep any old library cards people hand back in, so always have a supply of cards on hand for using in my art. All the following are done with an old library card; some have stamping on top, others have oil pastel and are wrapped with crinkled freezer wrap for texture. This has made me feel quite inspired and ready to get into some serious paintings; thanks so much Michelle – you really do rock.

19 thoughts on “Crusade #44: In a scrape

  1. Cath – great stuff! Love clicking on the close-ups for all the juicy details. The white is has such an impact on the red in the last one – then I see some dirty scraping – love that you can’t quite figure out which came first. Thanks for sharing with the team. Love hearing your enthusiasm to continue on with more painting 🙂

    Still holding tight to you and your family with thoughts and prayers following the rumblings.

    Like

  2. It shows that you love this technique – your pieces are wonderful! I particularly like the last one because of the colours but they are all great! And wha a great way to recycle those library cards!

    Like

  3. This technique was SO much fun.

    I love the colour and textures of your pieces, I had to click on each one for a gorgeous close up view.

    I especially love the scratchy effect on the purple one and the colour combinations of the one top left.

    Good luck with the ‘serious’ painting….. I love Michelle’s challenges I find them realy inspiring too.

    Like

  4. I love how you used composition as an “element” in these pieces…they look like finished pieces of art. In fact, I think the mostly black and white one IS a finished piece of art! Mat that puppy and get it on a wall (or on Artfire!).

    Like

  5. LOVE this technique, and enjoy studying your results. They’re all very interesting,but if I had to choose,a favorite I’d pick # 3. All those marks look fabulous, and the blend of colors,,,super!

    Hoping things are better for your family.

    Like

  6. LOVE this technique, and enjoy studying your results. They’re all very interesting,but if I had to choose,a favorite I’d pick # 3. All those marks look fabulous, and the blend of colors,,,super!

    Hoping things are better for your family.

    PS: I tagged along behind you,what cool places you go!
    I plan to join this challenge today,,,,THANKS!

    Like

Leave a comment